Red Seal Program





NETCO’s active promotion of pan-Canadian standards for apprenticeship and journeyperson skills training has a particular focus on the Red Seal electrical trades.

The following four electrical trades are designated under the Red Seal Program: Construction Electrician, Industrial Electrician, Powerline Technician , Instrumentation and Control Technician and Electric Motor Systems Technician. (Occupational titles may vary by jurisdiction. Click on the hyperlink for specific information.)

Canadian tradespeople may obtain a Red Seal endorsement on their certificates by successfully completing a Red Seal exam. The endorsement is widely recognized and respected as a standard of excellence by the electrical industry.

For more than 50 years, the Red Seal Program has stood as a symbol of labour mobility. It symbolizes:

  • opportunity for youth considering a career in the electrical trades
  • employability and lifelong learning for journeypersons
  • workforce skills competence for electrical contractors looking to expand their market
  • quality assurance for consumers

The Canadian Council of Directors of Apprenticeship (CCDA) is responsible for the Red Seal Program. The CCDA is working to improve the program through a set of strategic priorities including:

  • Continue progress on harmonization of Red Seal Trades;
  • Implement enhanced standards and introduce efficiencies in product development
  • Improve the knowledge-base on apprenticeship
  • Strengthen the CCDA’s leadership role

Canada’s electrical industry is the largest client and strongest supporter of Red Seal. The CCDA reports that in 2016, the Construction Electrician trade accounted for by far the largest number of Red Seal endorsements of any skilled trade, earning 5,561 endorsements in 2016 alone, and 119,942 endorsements since the inception of the Red Seal program.

For more information contact NETCO at or visit the Red Seal Website.